Thursday, January 31, 2013

The consequence of book-to-movie adapations

Source: LitStack

So I was going to finish writing up another review, but I changed my mind. Instead, I want to discuss something that I feel has been on the up and up lately, though it's been around for decades: movie adaptations. Not only that, but the effect that they have on potential readers and in recent times we've seen it become more and more of a thing: to read the book before the movie.

This concept is far from new. And I'm sure I'm not alone in saying that I'll refuse to watch some movies before I've gone through the book beforehand. My first instance of this was Harry Potter (J.K. Rowling). In high school, all of my close friends were huge Harry Potter fans, and so it became a kind of tradition that we would watch the next Harry Potter film on the day it started showing in cinemas, right after school. Only I just could not get through the fifth book (The Order of the Phoenix-- which I'm actually reading now) and so eventually, after months of struggle, I gave up. And watched the rest of the films blind. I, unlike all my friends, knew everything that was going to happen. And it was that desire to know what was going to happen along with my friends that made me want to keep up with the series.

Source: Gripped Into Books

What a difference a movie adaptation makes!

Seriously. Then there was Twilight (Stephanie Meyer), which actually worked in the opposite way. I avoided the series like the freaking plague. My group of close friends was divided on this one: half of us thought it was a bag of beans and more, the other half, including me, didn't even want to go there. Now granted, I wasn't much of a reader back then, and after my attempts with Harry Potter I'd given up on reading for leisure. But it divided us for a while. Not just when the books were getting big, but through the movie times as well.

But anyway. Movies are big. They'll always be bigger than books, at least in terms of exposure. When a new book-to-movie adaptation is brought to light, film tie-ins are published and word gets around. People will want to read the book before the movie.

For example: The Hunger Games (Suzanne Collins) - all of my siblings had picked up the trilogy and bought them. They understood that this book/film was going to be big, and so now? They've all finished the series and I'm still pining for those white and gloriously luxurious Luxury editions of the series. My sister, now in her mid-20s and is 'beyond YA lit', read the books. My big brother, who never finished reading even The Diary of a Wimpy Kid, read the series. (My younger brother, albeit, only by a year, unsurprisingly to me read the series.) 

Of course, this will not always be the case. Les Miserables, anyone? (Maybe for summer 2014...) What gets me excited is that book-to-movie adaptations can get non-readers to read books! *John Green-style hair strangle* I just thought I'd ramble on a bit, since I never do that on the blog and I think I ought to do it more often. I think about books a lot. :P


So, share! I want to know your experiences with book-to-movie adaptations!


(I've also read The Silver Linings Playbook and The Perks of Being A Wallflower, and Tomorrow, When the War Began... Still, I'm not even thinking of pursuing the The Mortal Instruments series)

This page is getting me really amped up for upcoming films!
And alright, alright. I'll do my review for Falling Kingdoms, while I'm here and semi-motivated to type some more.


Friday, January 25, 2013

[Review] Scent of Magic (#2) by Maria V. Snyder


(#2, Touch trilogy)
Touch of Power | Scent of Magic


Author:
Maria V. Snyder

Publication (dd/mm/yyyy): 01/01/2013
Publisher: Harlequin Teen
Pages: 416
Source: For review



Violence Sexual ContentProfanity

My Rating:
Surprising!
Warning! This is a sequel! Spoilers from the first book ahead!

My thoughts

New AUS cover of ToP
Avry sacrificed her life when she decided to heal Prince Ryne. She shouldn't be alive, but she is. Everyone thinks she's dead, and her surprise appearance at the oncoming war could ensure victory against Tohon's army. Avry joins the army in disguise to train the ally soldiers to silently move through the forest. Meanwhile Kerrick is on a certain mission and comes face to face with his worst nightmares...

Scent of Magic is the sequel to Touch of Power and as far as sequels go it does fairly well. The main element that I found so great in Touch of Power (the camaraderie of that tight-knit group) was sorely lacking in Scent of Magic. However, Snyder really went all out-- really, none of these characters that you've grown to love are safe. Tohon's army is growing stronger and larger and war is looming closer.

Tuesday, January 22, 2013

Waiting on Wednesday (45): Fantasy in January

"Waiting On" Wednesday is a weekly meme, hosted by Jill @ Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating.




The Fire Horse Girl ~ Kay Honeyman
January 1st 2013 ~ Arthur A. Levine Books
The pitch
"A fiery and romantic adventure, perfect for fans of Grace Lin, Kristen Cashore, or Lisa See!"

Goodreads

Why am I waiting on this?

Everything about this book. The cover, the title, the synopsis, the genre...



---


Scarlet
January 3rd 2013 ~ Puffin (UK)

Why am I waiting on this?

Cinder was a great read. I enjoyed it so much, I can't imagine that Meyer would disappoint with this one. Can't wait to delve back into this world!





So there you go. What books are you anticipating?



Thanks for visiting!

Comment with your picks and share the excitement!



Saturday, January 19, 2013

My Books in Colour (9) - New Books!


MBiC is a fortnightly (*ahem*) post book haul feature, and is inspired by Kristi (The Story Siren) and Alea (Pop Culture Junkie). I love looking at book covers, and especially their colours, and that is where my idea came from.

~~~~~

18th of January 2012 ~ Notes

For Christmas I got some books (which I asked for). I also bought a massive amount of books. A quick look at my track record would indicate that the chance of my reading these books in the foreseeable future is very, very slim. Well, at least my total for the month is less than $100! Also got some review copies for this month. Lots of good books!

Click to embiggen.



Note: All release dates are in the format (dd/mm/yyyy), click on images to zoom in, all book links go to Goodreads.

* = Up for swap



For Review

Thanks to...
Bloomsbury, Hachette, Penguin and Simon & Schuster!
  • Hysteria - Megan Miranda - 01/02/2013 - requested?
  • Through to You - Emily Hainsworth - 01/01/2013 - unsolicited?
  • Prodigy (#2) - Marie Lu - 29/01/2013 - unsolicited
  • Legacy (#2) - C.J. Daugherty - 17/01/2013  - unsolicited
  • The Laeduin (#2) - Leah Giarratano - 31/01/2013 - unsolicited
I'm extremely excited about these titles! Especially Hysteria... I really enjoyed Miranda's debut novel (Fracture) and I'm completely hooked in by the premise. It sounds intense. I've been seeing some mixed reviews for Through to You but I still have high hopes for it. I loved Legend (though I'm struggling to remember what happened in it) and I can't wait to delve into Prodigy! As for the other two books I received... they're parts of series that I have not started yet. Boo me!

Christmas!!!

This year I asked for three books--
I also got a 'Things to Do' pad of paper (very handy for me) and a new computer monitor/TV (from my parents); a Luigi plush (from my sister); 2 more plushies, and a syringue pen (from my older brother); and a cute T-shirt (from my younger brother).

Oh, I love Christmas. It's not just the gifts. I just love how different the world seems when December rolls on over, when school is done for the year and the temperature starts to creep up... and the night comes later and later. :D Hope you all had a wonderful time too!

Bought

YA
Adult contemporary
Classics

Again, I bought a lot of books from AllBooks4Less. When they held a holiday special ($3/book) I just went bananas. And then when I was out shopping I bought a few more since the shop had a stall open up and I found some books that weren't on the site. No regrets. No regrets.

I also bought a couple of books from The Book Depository: Ashes and Just One Day (!!!)



Q: What is your reading goal for 2013?

This year I'm going for something a little more realistic: 60 books. 5 books a month. I want to get in at least 15 books for Jan+Feb, because of the holidays and I normally read next to nothing at the end of the year (Oct-Dec). What about you?


Happy reading everybody! Comment below.
Share with me what books you got! :)

Wednesday, January 2, 2013

[Review] Speechless by Hannah Harrington


Author:
Hannah Harrington
Publication (dd/mm/yyyy): 28/08/2012
Publisher: Harlequin Teen
Pages: 268
Source: For review


Violence Sexual ContentProfanity

My Rating:
Inspired

Summary:
Everyone knows that Chelsea Knot can't keep a secret.

Until now. Because the last secret she shared turned her into a social outcast - and nearly got someone killed.

Now Chelsea has taken a vow of silence - to learn to keep her mouth shut, and to stop hurting everyone else. And if she thinks keeping secrets is hard, not speaking up when she's ignored, ridiculed and even attacked is worse.

But there's strength in silence, and in new friends who are, shockingly, coming her way. People she never noticed before. A boy she might even fall for. If only her new friends can forgive what she's done. If only she can forgive herself.


My thoughts


As SPEECHLESS involves a vow of silence, and it’s been ages since I read this and only had a small list written up about it, I’ll keep this review short and simple.


Related Posts with Thumbnails